Ten join pianist Daniel Inzani (Tezeta, Count Bobo) and poet/singer/saxophonist Alabaster dePlume (Honeyfeet, Liz Green) in creating a wash of fugues, invocations and tunes.

Employing unusual and cut-throat practices, analogue equipment was used to capture the creative expressions and communications of the 12-piece ensemble, live. Spontaneity, sincerity, and humour taking stubborn precedence, the characters of all involved have formed this delightful, unique and deeply moving piece of work.

Theatrical spoken-word and song joining chorus, horns, strings, piano and percussion, this release is a rich and frighteningly varied gem for Debt Records of Manchester (Bridie Jackson and the Arbour, Walk, Louis Barabbas and the Bedlam 6, Honeyfeet)

The ensemble is comprised of Dartington graduates and members of the Bloom Collective. It also features Sheelanagig’s Aaron Catlow, alongside the cellos of Eliza Carthy’s Beth Porter, Pepino’s Jessica Macdonald, Moulettes’ Hannah Miller and a feast of creative performers from far and wide.

As part of the project, a large collection of artists produced various forms of artwork in response to the material, it was presented physically at the launch in Bristol and can be viewed online at www.thejesterproject.co.uk/artists

An open-source recorded improvisation from the studio session is available, and sound-artists are being encouraged to produce remixes. Open source: soundcloud.com/thejesterproject/the-jester-ensemble

Stefan Asanovic – percussion, chorus
Leon Boydon – acoustic bass, chorus
Aaron Catlow – violin, tiny harmonica, chorus
Alabaster DePlume – tenor saxophone, guitar, vocals
Pete Gibbs – percussion, chorus
Dominie Hooper – vocals, percussion
Daniel Inzani – upright piano, chorus
Jessica Macdonald – cello, chorus
Hannah Miller – cello
Beth Porter – cello
Lorenzo Prati – tenor saxophone, penny-whistle, chorus
Dan Truen – drums, chorus


Written and arranged by Alabaster dePlume and Daniel Inzani ◙ Produced by Alabaster dePlume and Daniel Inzani with Mark Dressler ◙ Engineered by Mark Dressler ◙ Mastered by Karl Sveinsson ◙ Artwork and design by Liz Greenfield